//
you're reading...
Writings

Social Appearances VS Individuality

Lately, I have been wondering, why are people trying so hard to keep up to their social appearance? That is the question I need to ask myself too. Why am I trying so hard to keep up with social appearance when I know that there are things I want to do that people may look at me as if I were a strange creature from outer space.

What I want to introduce today is how social appearances can make people lose their own individuality and they will eventually lose the reason of existing in this chaotic world. Right now, I am a young adult, so I need to be a good role model to other kids. That is part of my social appearances that I need to depict. However, if I were to be myself, the super fangirl, radical feminist, outspoken, likes-to-cling-on-people, my position in society will question me if I am really an adult. I believe that both of these needs to come together, play the role that you are given, and when the role ends for the day, it is important to be yourself.

On the other hand, there are still people who are monitor on others, trying to view them as strange or the inferior when they express their individuality. For example , if a grown-up likes to cosplay, I know that to some cultures that seems more or less like a eccentric action, but please do not view it as a taboo. People need to express their individuality through their costumes, I don’ think it is really nice for people to look at others these way. The way a person dress does not mean they will burn down your house. That is the kind of expression that I guess is safe.

Now, as for social appearances, I am back to the question, how long would I keep that, and how long will my individuality which needs to be expressed out be suppressed within? Until the time when I finally come out from the role that society has given to me, I will start to express myself in ways that ….. may raise eyebrows, but there must be a time soon when I finally leave social appearances for a while and show my harmless, creative individuality.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

