//
you're reading...
Writings

(Writing Collections) It couldn’t be alive

(Note that this is not my ordinary rant. It is an experimental writing I am doing. And the narrator is not Eva.)

Once again, I witnessed it with my own eyes. I was not on drugs, I didn’t intake any alcoholic drinks that moment. The smile was alive. The eyes were alive. I am not hallucinating. The doll was indeed smiling back to me. I took small steps to have a clearer view of it, and when I was close enough to reach my hands to touch her, she gave off a small, innocent laugh. I jerked my hands back, slapping my left hand across my cheek. It was impossible. The doll couldn’t be alive.

I tried to ignore it like I did the last time I saw it looking at me. But this time, I couldn’t. I couldn’t take my eyes off it, and it wouldn’t stop looking at me either. She let off another laugh, as I slowly stepped back, only to miss a step and landed down flat on my back. This time, I heard a small thud followed by a few footsteps. The laugh seemed to be drawing closer towards me. I sat up and was terrified by the sight I saw. The doll was running towards me and her hair was growing fast as she ran towards the distance between us. She parted her red lips and mouthed of something I couldn’t catch. What was it? I wondered. What was it that she had said to me?

The doll hopped onto me and face to face, I was with the doll I bought from the mysterious salesman. He said I will be happy with just by placing the doll in my house. And so I did. And this was not making me happy.

I could feel the hair of the doll slowly wrapping around my neck. I tried to pull it away from me, but the laughter of the doll was still ringing in my ears. I struggled hard. It was all hopeless. I closed my eyes and knew that it was time for me to descend up to meet the gods.

Once again, I witnessed it with my own eyes. I was not on drugs, I didn’t intake any alcoholic drinks that moment. The smile was alive. The eyes were alive. I am not hallucinating. The doll was indeed smiling back to me. I took small steps to have a clearer view of it, and when I was close enough to reach my hands to touch her, she gave off a small, innocent laugh. I jerked my hands back, slapping my left hand across my cheek. It was impossible. The doll couldn’t be alive.

Yes. It couldn’t have been alive.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

