//
you're reading...
Writings

来年のことを言えば鬼が笑う (Speak of tomorrow (next year) and the devil will laugh).

One thing I love so much about the Japanese, is that they have loads of great ideas and ideas that has connection to the life I am living in. Of course, there is loads of good proverbs from China, Thailand, (where I suppose to link myself more than Japan) or even complicated Western proverbs which I have grown up with.

Anyway, today, I will introduce this proverb to you.

[来 年のことを言えば鬼が笑う] or equivalent to  [Speak of tomorrow and the devil will laugh]

Of course, the devil has laughed at me, more than I could even count. But why should I stop talking about the future?
I think I don’t want to stop talking about my future, but if I think back of it, I have thought and planned too much, and that I have been laughed at, by the devil, just because I have planned and day-dreamed of things that will not be true.

Darn. What kind of rambling have I done.

Last year, I hope that I will get the Monbusho scholarship. I have dreamed that probably this time of the year, I will b in Japan. But I failed the interview, and so, I am still in Thailand, doing at what I do best. Teaching.

I am pretty happy at what I am doing, but it would be better if I have had the chance to follow my dreams.

But dreams are only just dreams if luck, in addition to, skills are in paired together. I have none of those. I thought too highly of myself, and I failed miserably.

I have just taken the English exam of Monbusho which was so easy. I know that I can ace it, but the only thing is I will not get it because of my research proposal which might be too contemporary for certain people.

So now, I got to wait for results if I passed on to the interview stage. I just want to wait for the final step before thinking of the future.

Until then, I will not daydream of the future, but I will do the best for tomorrow.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

