//
you're reading...
Writings

(Writing Collections) Unnatural

This here is my attempt on writing romance. However, the “I” isn’t me again, and the character isn’t a girl.

The dark clouds in the sky have increased the darkness in my soul.

As the first drop of rain falls onto my hands, tears start to rush out from my eyes. What sorrow has overcome me, is still uncertain. The mixed feelings  has caught up in my mind for weeks; I was unable to understand my own feelings.  I jog my way around the court, I hope that at least the rain can wash away the pain.

It all began last month, when my best friend told me that he is dating with a girl from a nearby all girls’ school. It was his first love, and of course, it was, since we are from an all boys’ school, it wasn’t that easy to get a girlfriend. Because he told me with such happiness in his eyes, that he has fallen in love. I could feel that there is a certain pain deep inside my heart. But this was a feeling that I can’t express it out to him. He never knew that I have liked him for years, and those feelings are hidden behind the inseparable friendship that both of us display.

There was no others that I like, and I do not think of liking other boys. He was the only one who understood me more than myself. I could see him playing with his phone during breaks, and instead of talking to me like we have always been doing for years, he seems to be hypnotized under a spell to only look at the screen of his mobile phone. I could confess that I am jealous…but it was unnatural…this unnatural feeling I have for him has to only be kept to myself.

And there, soaked I was, running around the court just to wake me up from these unnatural feelings of mine.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “(Writing Collections) Unnatural

  1. Not too bad na. But I feel that prose has to be more tangy.

    Also, it’s like an entire plot is summarized in 3 paragraphs already. Shouldn’t you be building the character dynamics and not just tell the readers straight?

    Posted by nut | July 14, 2010, 11:44 pm
    • hehe thanks for the comment. Yep, you’re right about the “show” but not “tell” idea. Actually, I was planning to write a longer story, but I got really bored of it and stopped halfway haha. o(>///<)o
      Writing Romance wasn't inspiring enough for me~~~
      …..I am still really bad in writing romance…hehe

      Posted by angelofdevotion | July 15, 2010, 2:10 am

Leave a Reply

