//
you're reading...
Writings

To write or not to write

my novel in a present tense?

Well, most of the time, the novelist will write it in a past tense and it is rather rare to see a novel written in a present tense. And I am hesitating if I should write it in a present tense. I write writing experiments and I usually put it as a present tense just to let the reader view things like a play, and so that the reader would be able to grow along with the character. However, if I make something too strange and out of the mainstream, I fear that it might not sell.

First of all, I will be writing a novel about 5 different characters, pursuing their dreams in the city. Each of the character is written in a first person point-of-view, because I want to use the voice of the character to speak to the readers. It is more of less like a diary, but since I want to make each character development more obvious, I will slowly change the voice of each character…..

It will be the biggest task of novel writing I have ever done. I have never actually worried so much about grammar or style of writing, I simply write whatever I want to write, but this type, I need to develop my own writing skills.

And when I am confident with this style, I’ll post up excerpts!

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “To write or not to write

  1. Personally, I LOVE writing in present tense! I used to stick to past tense, but once I tried out present tense it felt like such a breath of fresh air. I actually see many novels in present tense, the majority of them in first person.

    I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but I feel that past tense is… heavier. More cluttered. :/ Am I making sense? And present tense doesn’t use “was” (a word I really don’t like) nearly as much as past tense does.

    Best of luck on your novel~ 😀

    Posted by entrancia | August 21, 2010, 3:08 am
    • Thanks for the comment! I am really happy to know that we both feel the same! What I am expecting is that my novel is happening the exact same time as the reader reading it! Oh, I also agree that past tense actually makes the story heavier.

      ^^ Thanks for the support *chuu*

      Posted by angelofdevotion | August 21, 2010, 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

