//
you're reading...
Writings

No Longer Human

I haven’t updated my blog with serious issues these days. Nor have I done what I promised about writing the Mabushii Japan’s articles. I am just quite lazy and quite busy being in the real world I find really troublesome.

In this post, I want to talk about what it is to be human.
Usually, we describe human as being creatures who walk upright on two feet, and have the ability to speak and think, and are above all other living creatures in the world. That goes to the scientific explanation. Even if one can’t walk, or can’t speak, or can’t think, physically, they are still humans.

But now, I guess being human comes with a greater responsibility.
We can’t be ourselves completely in the society, we need to behave and be part of the collective society, follow the norms of it, and try to be the person the society expects us to be. But what if I don’t want to be part of it? Will I be a human? or just a living creature who looks human but is no longer human?

Being educated, I know how important it is to be a human that is part of the society. We are not alone in this world. We cannot do what we please, and there are things that we can and can’t do. Of course, laws are there to follow to protect the people and the country’s safety, but laws are not the only thing people need to follow today. Social Expectations are much more troublesome than that.

Each day, I repeat this question to myself. Am I born in the right era? Am I worth enough to be human? Will the creator of life feels that he made a mistake by creating a human like me?

Inside, I know perfectly that I am human. But thoughts inside of me aren’t getting close.
I have often criticized on those who assault other people, taking their lives, or changing/putting a scar to their lives  forever. I want to eliminate each of them, and I want them to die  with great torture…
Having those thoughts, (which I don’t want to go into details),makes me think …..how am I different from them?

Here, I ask myself again. Am I still human?

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

