//
you're reading...
Writings

The World at its final episode

I always believed that our lives are episodes of a (boring) long-running TV drama series. There’s the emo, sappy moments, the dramatic moments and i-wish-i-were-a-bunny moments and etc. *sigh* And for 24 years, now in 2011, I realized that, “hey, its gonna be 2012 next year! It was rumoured that the world is going to end.” Damn. Stop making me so depressed. I am still young, single, and ambitious.

If you asked me if I believed in 2012 stuff or not, I would say, I rather not believe in it, even though I have doubts of not surviving. Look, as long as I don’t get a doctoral degree in Japan, I don’t want to die. That will be my highest achievement, and I want to prove to myself that I can earn a PhD too. Unfortunately, things aren’t terrible just for me, and it is far much worst for the people in Japan. The dreadful earthquake and tsunami did not only destroy the hopes of dreams of mine, but took away hopes, houses, dreams, lives of people over in Japan. My dreams can be destroyed, and I can find it back soon, as long as I stay alive, but those whose lives are taken, can’t even achieve anything… and the ones who are left behind are the ones who suffer the most.

I know it has been exactly a month, and you may wonder why I haven’t written anything about it. That’s because I was too upset to write anything about it. Guess I want to be under this self-restraint mode.

Why am I saying “The World at its final episode”? Basically, that’s because this thing we claim to love yet we still destroy called the Earth is breaking apart. Earthquakes here and there, almost every single day after the major earthquake in Japan. Even in Burma and Northern Thailand (and that Thailand never actually had an earthquake that big before) suffered from earthquakes that is around 6.0…

So this final episode MIGHT not even be next year, might not even be a century from now. But what I guess is that this final episode is gonna be a long episode, and indeed a very dreadful one. I don’t care about divine punishment, judgement day, or some religious belief, I just purely believe that humanity will just go down the way dinosaurs did. And whether it is tomorrow, or next year, next decade, or even next century, there is only one thing I wanted to say to conclude this post.

I am not going to give up on my dreams just because we believe that the world is about to end.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

