//
you're reading...
Writings

“9 Hobbies Which Will Turn Any Man Off A Girl”

There was a poll asking men (in 2ch) what hobbies a girl has that will turn off a man.
Sankaku Complex was the one who brought that up, but I prefer to say I got the info from aramatheydidnt.

A list of 9 hobbies which will purportedly cause any right thinking male to spurn any woman so deviant as to pursue them is currently the subject of much attention online – boys love, online gaming, visual-kei and, of course, anime figures, all seem to be regarded as shortcuts to spinsterhood…

1. She loves Korean dramas so much she makes regular trips to Korea
“I’d wonder if she sees anything good in Japanese men!” – man in his twenties

2. She collects bishonen or bishoujo anime figures
“It’d be pretty freaky if she had those figures in her room” – man in his twenties

3. She loves reading “boys love” homosexual male romance novels and manga
“I’d be frightened of her imagining me in those kind of BL situations…” – teenage man

4. She’s glued to her PC playing online games
“I have the impression these kinds of people spend all their holidays cooped up in their dirty little rooms” – man in his twenties

5. She’s makes a hobby of constantly observing other people in public
“I’d be a bit doubtful of a girl who made a hobby of watching other people” – man in his twenties

6. She’s an idol or visual-kei groupie
“If a girl I liked was into idols, I’d feel insecure as there is no way I could match up” – teenage man

7. She likes making engineering level modifications of cars and bikes
“That’s just something men do, right?” – man in his twenties

8. She likes karate and boxing and other martial arts
“If she got angry she might beat you senseless!” – man in his thirties

9. She’s a gambler, into pachinko and horse racing
“It suggests a rather dubious economic outlook, and is not something you’d want your girlfriend to be doing” – man in his twenties

(source from aramatheydidnt)

First of all, I thought…..WTF is this? Then I realize that those boys probably are those who objectify women too much, wanted their wives to be submissive, good in bed and cook for them only. Her hobby will be knitting, cooking and cleaning. And yeah, I won’t need that kind of guy anyway.

This is my attack on those points.

1. She loves Korean dramas so much she makes regular trips to Korea.
A girl who likes Korean dramas is totally normal. Girls, whether they are students. OL or housewives like dramas. Like we watch drama for a “escapism” reason, because our lives aren’t like dramas and we don’t meet guys like in dramas, so we watch them. As for making trips to Korea, why wouldn’t they? I watch dramas and I want to make trips to places too. That’s because I can feel closer to the drama and feel like I can be a tiny part of it. Standing on the ground where my fav celeb stood before….Understood?

2. She collects bishonen or bishoujo anime figures?
Wait, why? You guys collect them too. I collected dolls when i was younger, and collected sailormoon action figure since I was seven, and why can’t I collect them? I have 2 collections of Kuroshitsuji figures and aiming to collect more….so why is it wrong? Don’t boys who said it was a turn off do that too? It’s okay for you to be an otaku and not okay for US GIRLS to collect figures? What you are saying it’s a turn off.

3. She loves reading “boys love” homosexual male romance novels and manga
This is like fujoshi’s dose of objectified, perfect men whom only appear in BL manga. You probably like those moe girls and sexually active girls in hentai anime, why can’t we like those boys? Hentai isn’t directed to us girls, so we have BL instead. Why is it okay when you like those girls, have them on your walls, and not okay for us to do that too? You sometimes imagine us making out with our hot best friends too, I bet. You like ecchi and hentai. Fujoshis like BL and smut. Understood?

4. She’s glued to her PC playing online games
I am not glued to playing online games, but don’t you think it is cool for you to play games with her? That’s much better than holding hands, and shopping. She shares your hobby and that’s already really cute. You’re the one who is an idiot. You can even flirt with her online, help her kill monsters attacking her in the game and being a hero just like that. BAKA! Can’t be a hero in real life, be a hero for her in online games!

5. She’s makes a hobby of constantly observing other people in public
When she like observing people means she is alert and aware of things around her. I understand if you don’t like that, but she might be a writer, a blogger, or a researcher too. Those people need observation skills to write about something.

6. She’s an idol or visual-kei groupie
I am guilty for it, and I wanna ask you boys too. Are you not one too? You like either AKB48, Ebisu Musicats, KARA, Girls Gen, those are not idol groups? Come on, are you jealous? Liking an idol doesn’t always mean that girls want their boyfriend to be exactly like them. They hope too, but really, idols are another form of “escapism”. Visual Kei has good music and pretty boys. Don’t even understand why boys can’t stand girls who like them.

7. She likes making engineering level modifications of cars and bikes
SO WHAT? SHE IS DAMN COOL, ISN’T SHE? ARE YOU FEELING THAT YOUR MASCULINITY IS BEING THREATENED? WHAT A BASTARD!

8. She likes karate and boxing and other martial arts
You are afraid that she is going beat the crap out of you? I think those of us who practice martial arts want to kick your balls for being so simple-minded. I like martial arts so I can protect myself and I don’t need to be a damsel in distress to let some guy protect me. The world is scary. I don’t need guys who can accept this though. You wimp.

9. She’s a gambler, into pachinko and horse racing
I can totally understand this. But shouldn’t this be the first?

Okay, so I finally get to attack all those with my reasons and if you disagree with it, I don’t care. Only if you girls want to give more opinions, then I am okay with it. but guys who says “OMFG, MY THOUGHTS EXACTLY” to this 9 hobbies, I think only a few girls will like you anyway. That’s because girls don’t want a guy who fusses over her hobby. These hobbies are just like shopping for most girls. If you can’t accept these hobbies, you will one day find a girl who at least do one of those and you gotta live with it.

I don’t care if my future bf likes anime, collect figures or likes cosplay. I prefer him to like the same things as I do. That’s because doing hobbies together is rather more interesting than to hold hands and go shopping together.

About angelofdevotion

Born in Thailand, raised in Singapore, came back to Thailand during my teens and lived there since. English is more of my native language, and I teach it for a living!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

